top of page
Cidade no litoral

The regions of Brazil are the grouping of federation units into regions with the purpose of helping statistical interpretations, implementing public function management systems of common interest or guiding the application of public policies of the federal and state governments.


This division of Brazil was prepared by the Brazilian Institute of Geography and Statistics in 1970 and created five regions: Midwest, Northeast, North, Southeast and South.

After the successive updates of the 1942 division resulting from the internal reconfigurations of federalism, the IBGE produced a new regionalization in 1969.


This is the still current version that outlines the current regions: Bahia and Sergipe became part of the Northeast, while Rio de Janeiro, Espírito Santo and Minas Gerais were joined to São Paulo in the Southeast.


A few years later, the south of Mato Grosso became autonomous, with the name of Mato Grosso do Sul, remaining part of the Center-West.


After that, only a few small changes were added, with the Constitution of 1988: the north of Goiás was separated with the name of Tocantins and annexed to the North region; Roraima, Rondônia and Amapá passed from territory to state; Fernando de Noronha went from federal territory to a state district of Pernambuco. Thus, five regions above were formed.

bottom of page